The wind beneath my…dress

18 Jun

Walking the Brooklyn Bridge is a great thing to do on a beautiful day, but I don’t recommend doing it wearing a sundress.

The Brooklyn Bridge, a national historic landmark and one of the oldest suspension bridges in the U.S., is not far from the Woolworth building where I spend most of my weekdays, so I went alone right after class Wednesday. It wasn’t a particularly windy day, but winds picked up and grew increasingly stronger the higher I got over the East River. Each step I took from safety was a step closer to potential embarassment, but I wasn’t turning back.  When I got to the halfway point, I can only imagine how ridiculous I looked as I did my best to hold my dress down with one hand while my hair blew in multiple directions in front of my face and my remaining free hand attempted to snap photos of the beautiful surroundings. I was so distracted by my situation – and couldn’t see past my hair- that I had no idea how my pictures were turning out. Instead of being a leisurely stroll on the bridge, it was a hurry-up-and-get-this-over-with experience…all while trying to come across calm. Back on land, I was able to release my hand from my dress and pat myself on the back. It was like being sucked into a tornado and then spit back out.

Besides the Brooklyn Bridge I’ve been able to check out Ground Zero, Wall Street and the historic district during the free time I can find. I also went to Little Italy today with my friends on our walk home. The sign that said “slice of pizza and beer/wine for $6” on a café window sounded like a good deal to us. What it didn’t advertise was we’d be getting a front row seat to the drama that unfolded behind the counter: two cashiers yelling at the top of their lungs to each other; one mad at the other for some reason I could not make out in their city accents. For more than five minutes, fellow patrons seemed to feel the same discomfort that we did watching the two women duke it out verbally. But most shocking was that the rest of the restaurant staff only watched from the corner of their eyes, not wanting to get involved. When our plates were empty we left immediately and had fun trying to figure out their story all the way home.

Needless to say, there have been some interesting situations these last few days. Will I go back to the Brooklyn Bridge wearing a dress? No.  Will I go back to the restaurant in Little Italy where the two cashiers are probably still going at it? No. But, “Experience is the name everyone gives to their mistakes.”

2 Responses to “The wind beneath my…dress”

  1. Muzzie June 18, 2010 at 5:56 pm #

    Great bridge pictures in spite of your windy situation. I wish somebody had taken a picture of you up there. Now that would have been a great shot! Remember Marilyn Monroe’s famous windy NYC photo?!

    • graycatgirl June 19, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

      I actually did have someone take a picture of me, but their photography skills were much worse than mine!

Leave a Reply

