Here’s where you’ll find me…

21 Jun

"Frozen Yogurt. Your Way."

Today marks exactly two weeks that I’ve been living in New York City, and so far there is one place that I’m already a regular at: “16 Handles.

Ice cream lovers, listen up! 16 Handles is a frozen yogurt (okay, so not exactly ice cream) place on 2nd Avenue between 9th and 10th which makes it exactly one block east and four blocks south of me, i.e. too close. It’s actually the only place in the city that i’ve consciously memorized the location for…is that sad? Regardless of what that says about me, 16 handles has 16 flavors of frozen yogurt that customers dispense themselves; I’m sure this is where it gets its name but I’m not positive. When you finally pick your flavor of choice, and the cold, smooth-textured goodness is heaped in your cup, you proceed to a counter where there are magnificent toppings for you to load on to your heart’s desire. And that is where the only problem lies…your creation gets weighed on a scale and priced accordingly. So be careful if your eyes are bigger than your stomach. 

When my friends and I stumbled upon this place one night after leaving dinner, we were just in the middle of saying how stuffed we were until…”oh my God, is this an ice cream place?” I interrupted. My roommate Kelly and I vowed we were going in just to “check it out,” while Sora and Sabrina waited outside. I think I’ve found my soulmate in Kelly. She loves dessert, especially ice cream treats, as much as I do, and those who know me will understand. Ten minutes later we came out with over .8 pounds of frozen heaven. In fact, in the many times I’ve been to 16 Handles, I’ve figured out that I’ve averaged about .85 pounds of frozen yogurt and enjoyed it with only mild guilt. My favorite flavors, Birthday Cake and Peanut Butter, are actually non-fat, so that’s great! Well, my go-to toppings include, cookie dough bits, crushed oreo, heath bar, butterfinger, M&Ms, cherries and carmel sauce – all of that, every time! To put things into perspective, i’ve eaten at 16 Handles more times than I’ve gone to the gym since being in New York City, so this may be a problem. But the way I see it, it’s delicious, it makes me happy, and summers in NYC are hot and sticky, therefore this is the best cure. Thank you, whoever it is, who put this place in walking distance of my dorm. I’ve learned life is too short not to seize the moment, even when that moment is loaded with fat and sugar.

the "16 handles" (flavors)

The assorted toppings

The finished products (mine is on the right, my boyfriend Chris's is on the left). What colorful creations!

4 Responses to “Here’s where you’ll find me…”

  1. Muzzie June 21, 2010 at 11:31 pm #

    Hey Steph, Are you sure “16 Handles” doesn’t refer to loves handles???? 🙂

  2. Sarah June 24, 2010 at 2:33 am #

    is it better than dairy bar!?!

    • graycatgirl June 24, 2010 at 2:59 am #

      Umm, different. I love that this place is do-it-yourself, but there’s nothing like dairy bar come to think of it!! Let’s go back this summer 🙂

Leave a comment