Who says you can’t go home?

28 Jun

Due to a weeklong bug that I just couldn’t get rid of, i decided to go home this past weekend to get some rest and fresh air. But I forgot that I didn’t have my car to get me out of the city.

I must admit that it was an accomplishment to find my way to and around Grand Central Station and successfully get myself home (and back with an additional bag full of groceries and food from home). Though it is minor looking back, just two days ago this task was a challenge in front of me. Everything new is a challenge. I had conquered the subways alone…the train was a new beast. My biggest concern was getting on the wrong train or missing my stop, but I survived to talk about it.

I personally like opportunities like this. They get me out of my comfort zone and make me raise the bar on my own standards, and thus doing myself a favor. It reminded me of the day I moved into my dorm here in NYC just three weeks ago. I came in by town car with four large suitcases and bags, and my parents, who were actually in NYC for the week on business, offered to help me move in. Believe it or not I said no. I was determined to prove to myself that I could find my own way here, carry my multiple items in – as cumbersome as they were – and figure out what the heck to do next now that I was in the big city. I knew it would help me start off on the right foot, and I’m glad I did it that way. It was empowering.

Anyways, when I finally got home Friday night, I was able to sleep for 11 hours (I’ve gotten no more than five to six hours a night in the last three weeks). On Saturday I harvested some of my lettuce, spinach, beans, peas and rhubarb that had shot up since I left them behind in early June. With my gathering, I made my family a delicious, heaping salad (I also had not eaten a vegetable in the last three weeks). It was very satisfying!

In my 48 hours home I did everything “summery” I could think of that I can’t do in the city: swim, waterski, jetski, ride the boat, make homemade rhubarb muffins, work in the gardens, sleep in the porch, make s’mores by the campfire, grill salmon and corn on the cob, etc., etc. I guess I didn’t get much rest.

And at the end of my weekend, i’m able to exhale. I’ve returned to NYC feeling healthier, refreshed and a smidge more confident having mastered traveling by train 🙂

“The most splendid achievement of all is the constant striving to surpass yourself and to be worthy of your own approval.” Denis Waitley

2 Responses to “Who says you can’t go home?”

  1. Poppy's June 28, 2010 at 10:50 am #

    Good story Stephanie! Wow!…..You really did sleep late Saturday morning!! I kept wondering if you were OK since it was not like you to take an early morning swim in the lake or be seen sitting by your garden. Well, your batteries are charged now and you continue to enjoy two habitats!
    p.s. Thanks for making the delicious berry rhubarb muffins!

    • graycatgirl June 28, 2010 at 10:33 pm #

      Thanks dad, glad you like it 🙂 I should have left some of the muffins home with you guys! Sorry! I’m glad I came home and rested up. Hopefully see you here next week xoxo

Leave a Reply

