The woman on the roof

7 Jul

I spotted this scene last week while nibbling on cheese and crackers with my dad on the rooftop lounge of the Marriott Hotel in Midtown Manhattan:

However many stories high we were, there were skyscrapers all around and busy streets with flashes of color below. A relaxed woman lounging on her deck with a good book, surrounded by her greenery, on a nearby building was a pleasant sight. It put a smile on my face and warmed my soul. She seemed completely unaware of the sounds and distractions around her. Her makeshift yard was a great effort of creating a home in New York City.

If I were to live in this city, I’d be doing the exact same thing. I love the idea of being so close to it all – the beating heart of this country – but I’ve wondered on occasion since being here if I would miss complete stillness, quiet and trees all around. I’m used to the sounds of water from the lake lapping against our dock, a lake breeze stirring a neighbor’s windchimes, cars driving by in the distance. But I don’t think it would be unthinkable to get used to new sounds, a new feel. Frank Sinatra wanted to come here badly. Carrie Bradshaw and Co. couldn’t imagine spending their adult lives anywhere else. Who says I couldn’t? When you think U.S.A., you can’t help but think N.Y.C., and there’s something wonderfully patriotic about that, and it’s exciting to be a part of it. Thanks for inspiring me, rooftop-reading, makeshift-yard lady. Happy reading and gardening to you!

4 Responses to “The woman on the roof”

  1. Dee Wilcox July 7, 2010 at 2:04 pm #

    What an inspiring sight! Im so happy you & Poppa got to spend time together in NYC! Today is his Birthday! YOU ARE THE AUTHOR OF YOUR OWN LIFE STORY…so whatever your Gray Cat Dreams are, you will turn them into reality, if they were meant to be. Shlove Seester

  2. graycatgirl July 7, 2010 at 11:50 pm #

    Isn’t it? I knew you of all people would appreciate it. Thanks for your encouragement, I wish I brought that illustration you made for me with that quote! Shlove

  3. Muzzie July 8, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

    Wouldn’t it be awesome to have a small place in the City and another home outside the City, then you’d have the best of both worlds. You can write from anywhere, anytime. That’s so cool. Great Blog Steppie! Love, Muzzie

Leave a Reply

