Heard this week:

9 Jul

It was a busy, busy, busy week, with so much to learn, but I managed to pick up a few noteworthy quotes from various speakers in the publishing field as well as a handful of interesting tidbits:

“Just get your foot in the door”

“Always be the calmest person in the room”

“Know what you deserve and then never disappoint”

“There’s gonna be some really cool shit” (having to do with books becoming digital and all the fancy, shmancy electronic applications)

“The power of Oprah cannot be underestimated” (This refers to the fact that Oprah picks only three books a year for her book club, and to be one of those books is the most effective way for more books to be sold, i.e. a publisher’s dream come true.

As for tidbits, I learned that the publisher of Little Brown and Company, a division of Hachette Book Group, was on a long flight out to California when she read the unpublished Twilight manuscript; you know, that book that became a series and then was made into movies and took off internationally? In other words, this person, who went on to publisher Twilight, is one happy lady.  An acquisition like that – which she had a good feeling would be very successful- is the stuff that makes her counterparts across the industry jealous. It’s a book like this that “changes people’s lives, keeps people in their jobs and changes the industry.” She admits, however, that each publishing house has their golden moment, this was hers. (Afterall, Harry Potter was discovered by a different lucky duck – a division of Penguin Group.) For the amount of times the Twilight series and author Stephenie Meyer have come up in the last week, I can’t believe I haven’t read the series or seen the movies. This is on my to-do list before the year is over.

Other names that have been mentioned an outrageous amount of times are James Patterson, John Grisham and David Baldacci. The latter of which is exciting since I spent the day with the bestseller in May and got an inside look at his life and career. Whenever I hear his name it makes me feel really cool 🙂

Finally, I also met the woman who helped make Fabio famous, though it’s not something she says she’s proud of. She is senior VP of Marketing at Simon & Schuster and she secretly told my publishing group, which is creating a romance imprint, that she helped make him the cover model on a collection of romance novels, and his look became famous, as you know, and he ended up on t.v. “What a small world.”

3 Responses to “Heard this week:”

  1. Dee Wilcox July 9, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

    Great blog Dink! I was just thinking I want to read the Twilight series too…I’ve heard they are good. I finished Skinny Bitch and loved every minute of it. Thank you again! I wish I could contact that publisher to thank him from the bottom of my heart. I’m now onto Skinny Bitch Bun in the Over…im lending it to Erica after. Im babysitting Trent today. Shlove, Dink 🙂

  2. Muzzie July 10, 2010 at 12:30 pm #

    Another great blog Steppie! I really enjoyed the tidbits and quotes. I really like the one “Know what you deserve and then never disappoint.” It reminded me of another quote I have hanging up in the craft room “Until you decide you are worthy of more, you will be content with less.” It’s cool because quotes can mean something very different to each person. And they can mean something different to the same person at different points in her life. THE POWER OF WORDS!!
    Shlove, The Muz

    • graycatgirl July 10, 2010 at 2:46 pm #

      I love the quote too. One of the young investment bankers I met in New Port (he was only 26 but very confident) said this is what he told himself to make it in his career. Apparently he has a pretty cool success story that i’ll explain to you sometime. Anyway, he has a bright future and I wanted to remember his advice!

Leave a Reply

